### **ANNUAL COUNCIL**

Date: Wednesday, 11 May 2022

**Title:** Appointments to Advisory Committees and Outside Organisations

**Contact Officer:** Deputy Town Clerk, Adam Clapton

### **Background**

The Town Council appoints representatives to the following Advisory Committees/Outside Bodies and it is usually recommended that those appointed as per below should serve until the Annual Council Meeting following the next ordinary election of Councillors in 2023, although Members may wish to step down at this juncture if they so wish.

Witney Traffic Advisory Committee - 4

Joy Aitman, Liz Duncan, Andrew

Prosser, Thomas Ashby

Oxfordshire Association of Local Councils -

[Larger Councils]

1 – Leader of the Council

West Witney Sports & Social Club 2 – Joy Aitman, Vicky Gwatkin

Witney Town Band - 1 – Ruth Smith

Witney & District Twinning Association - 3 (Mayor (Ex officio))

Joy Aitman, Owen Collins, Liz

Duncan

West Oxfordshire Museum Centre - 1 – Liz Duncan

St Mary's Church Preservation Trust - Mayor

Volunteer Link Up - 1– Liz Duncan

RAF Brize Norton – Local Consultation - 1 – Liz Duncan

**Working Group** 

Witney Allotment Association - 1 – Ruth Smith

Witney Youth Council Mentors 2 — Thomas Ashby, Rosa Bolger

& Vicky Gwatkin

Friends of the Cemeteries - 2 - Owen Collins, Duncan

Enright & Mel Jones

Home Start Champions - Joy Aitman & Ruth Smith

Lower Windrush Valley Project - Ruth Smith

West Oxfordshire Community Transport - Joy Aitman

Witney Fair Trade Action Group Champion - Duncan Enright

## **NOMINEES**

Listed below are the Town Council nominees serving on other outside bodies. The expiry dates of terms of office on these bodies are shown. The terms of office are set by the various bodies and Council appointments are made on the expiry of the term or vacancies caused by resignation, disqualification, etc.:

(\* Denotes non-Member of Witney Town Council) <u>Term of office expires</u>

# Witney Town Hall Charity – 4 year term of office

Ms Mandy Collicut* (Co-opted Trustee)  Jul	ıly 2024
	,
O Collins Ma	lay 2023
Mr C Knowles*	<mark>1ay 2023</mark>
Mrs R Knowles*	<mark>ine 2022</mark>
Mr D Semaine* (Co-opted Trustee)	ctober 2023
Mrs L J Semaine*	<mark>ine 2022</mark>

(The Town Council does not nominate co-opted Trustees)

### Witney Town Charity – 4 year term of office

I Ashbaurna	luna 2024
L Ashbourne	June 2024
M Jones	June 2024
Mr J S King	October 2022
J Aitman	June 2025
Mr C Woodward*	February 2026

# Witney Educational Foundation – 4 year term of office

J Aitman	July 2023
L Duncan	May 2025
Mr R W Barton*	May 2024
Mr C K Woodward*	May 2022

Henry Box Collection – L Duncan May 2023

# <u>Cogges Welfare Trust Charity</u> – 4 year term of office

J Aitman	July 2024
D Enright	July 2024
Mr H W Chirgwin*	July 2024

## Madley Park Hall Trust - 4 year term of office

J Aitman May 2023

Arising from the above it will be seen that nominations are required as listed below:

### a) Witney Town Hall Charity (3 Council-nominated vacancies)

The term of office of Mrs L Semaine expires this year – the Charity has advised that Mrs Semaine would be willing to stand for another term.

Mr C Knowles has resigned as a trustee and subsequently, Mrs R Knowles has asked not to be considered for further nomination as her term also expires this year.

# b) <u>Witney Town Charity</u>

Further information on the Town Council's request to nominate non town council representatives, as discussed on 6 December 2021, has yet to be received.

### c) <u>Witney Educational Foundation</u>

The term of office of Mr C Woodward is due to expire in May 2022 – the Foundation has advised that Mr Woodward would like to continue for a further term if the Council would nominate him again.

#### Recommendations

 Members are invited to note the report and consider the appointments to the outside bodies/organisations and make any changes as desired, but particularly with regard to the two organisations where trusteeships have or are due to expire this municipal year.